top of page
Search
emmanuv3

The wonder's of Week one

Hello my name is Emmanuel Valencia Ortega, I am currently a sophomore at the University of California, Irvine. I am criminology major but i am undeceive of my career path yet. I may not be the most interesting person in the world but to get to know me, I am a person that is quite shy with people I may not know, but when I am more accustomed to someone my true colors come out. If you want to know more about me, here is a link to my powerpoint that I have described myself in six words. moving on to my academic career, the last writing class that I have taken was in high school, my senior year. The class is called AP English Literature and Composition, the focus was to interpret the meaning of different arrays of literature. when analyzing the main ideas of a text, then we would write essays about a given prompt and message that a text centered around. The two most important things that I have learned would be further analyzing text by looking for hints and defining certain terms that I may not understand. Another important thing that I learned from that class was interpreting certain literature into a written analysis.

I have not always been a good writer, I struggled to understand and analyze certain literatures that thus made it difficult to write an essay. My weaknesses, when it comes to writing is that I do not take the time to understand the subject that I may have to talk about. For example when it comes to a prompt, I do not review the question enough so that I am able to write a good essay or response. This is not always the case but I have to stop rushing my responses or essays without analyzing the prompt enough to understand every part of it's question. Writing has not been my strongest subject, Ive struggled with analyzing and correctly punctuating my writing. Writing an essay has always been a struggle for me and that reflected my grade on my assignment my senior year. The average grade that I was getting on my essays were around a C- to C+. My goal was always to get above a C + and I did so. When it came to my last essay of the year I was able to write an essay about whether euthanasia was acceptable or not. I was intrigued on the subject and that made it possible to write an essay that I was confident I would get a good grade on. I ended getting a B+ on that essay and oh my god was I so proud and excited that I was able to achieve this in a subject that I have struggled in.

When it came to the language and grammar diagnostic, I did not do as well as I thought I was going to do. My score came out to be a 60/100, which to me is surprising but expected as well. I have not taken an english class since my senior year of high school so I have forgotten some proper grammar. The score I got was surprising as well because I though I was at-least going to get 70% right. The questions that I had the most problems with were the ones that asked to put a punctuation in the right place of a sentence. since I have not thought about these questions in a while, I have forgotten where to put a punctuation in the right place.


The syllabus of this course (WR39A) interprets what we are going to learn but as well basic policies that as a student must know about the course. The syllabus briefly showcases how to do well in this course but as well explains what type of coursework is going to be given throughout the whole quarter. The course objectives are there for the students to understand what they have to do in this course to learn effectively and understand how to be successful in this course. The course objectives are there for the student to understand what they must do in order to succeed in writting39A. The writing contract is there to showcase the students what they must do to receive a certain grade. The contract goes more in depth of what may be required to receive an A or B as a final grade. I hope everyone an amazing year, Stay safe out there!






22 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Farewell Responses

Abigail Stetter: Hey Abigail, I had the same problem of trying to find out how to use multimedia sites like Wix in the beginning of this...

Pre-production Blog

When it came to choosing what day we were going to meet up for our pre-production meeting we actually met twice. The first first time we...

2 Komentar


nhienvu1992
18 Jan 2021

Hey Emmanuel, it’s so cool that we both took AP Literature during high school. It was indeed very helpful in preparing me for college writing. However, the teacher made my class read lots of books though

Suka

2698842262
16 Jan 2021

Hi Emmanuel! I hadn't thought that in the introduction part, the situation or the writing experience should include classes taking in high school! By the way, I really like the picture with shining words "YOU CAN DO IT," and your major at UCI, criminology!! Have a nice quarter!

Suka
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page